Race Equality Charter

What is the Race Equality Charter?

race equality charter member logo

The Race Equality Charter (REC) aims to improve the representation, progression and success of Black and Minority Ethnic Staff and Students within Higher Education and focuses on; academic staff, professional and support staff, student progression and awarding, and diversity of the curriculum.

Launched by the Equality Challenge Unit (now Advance HE) in January 2016, the REC provides a framework through which institutions work to identify and self-reflect on institutional and cultural barriers standing in the way of Black, Asian and Minority Ethnic staff and students, and is underpinned by five guiding principles.

The University is committed to the REC and joined as a member institution in May 2017. Member institutions develop initiatives and solutions for action as part of the application process. We intend to submit our institutional application in July 2023. To work towards this submission, we have set up a Self-Assessment Team (SAT) who are leading a full evaluation of race equality across the University and working with the University community to develop a 4-year institutional action plan. The REC SAT is coordinated and supported by the Inclusion Team in People and Culture.

Self-Assessment Team (SAT)

The SAT is co-chaired by Dr Hannah Gibson, Professor Lorna Fox O'Mahony and Kai Yin Low, and includes staff and student representatives from across the institution. The team are responsible for driving the University’s work to improve racial equality across the University and within the community more broadly. The SAT also includes work stream leads, who are members of staff who focus on particular areas within the application. The SAT meet termly, and the work stream leads meet monthly.


 Ai Gooch

Academic Liaison Librarian (Business and Law), Library

Work stream lead: Professional and support staff, recruitment, progression and development.

 Bhavya Jhaveri

Inclusion Manager, People and Culture

Dr Chaminda Wijethilake

Senior Lecturer, Essex Business School

Work stream lead: Undergraduate and Postgraduate student profile, pipeline and employment.

Dorothy Akuamoa

VP Student Welfare, Students Union

 Elaine Brown

Director of Inclusion, People and Culture

 Emily Banfield

Head of Internal Communications, Communications and External Relations

 Haji Yakubu

Lecturer (Essex Pathways) and Postgraduate Research Student (Essex Business School),

Work stream lead: Academic staff training, appraisal, support for ECRs, profile raising.

Halona Harper

Loughton Black Officer, Students’ Union

Dr Hannah Gibson

Senior Lecturer, Department of Language and Linguistics

SAT Co-Chair

Professor Ilaria Boncori

Deputy Dean (Postgraduate Research Training), Humanities

Dr Jak Peake

Senior Lecturer, Department of Literature, Film and Theatre Studies

Work stream co-lead: Teaching and Learning.

 Jamais Webb-Small

Inclusion Manager, People & Culture

 Kai Yin Low

Research Development Manager, Research Enterprise Office

SAT Co-Chair

Lacey Fearon

Southend Black Officer, Students’ Union

 Lianne Cribbs

Inclusion Officer, People and Culture

Professor Lorna Fox O'Mahony

Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Essex Law School

SAT Co-Chair

Professor Madeline Eacott

Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Education) and Inclusion Champion (Race),

 Richard Stock

Academic Registrar, Academic Section

 Sara Limerick

Director, Employee Relations and Reward

Sophie Kabangu

Colchester Black Officer, Students’ Union

Professor Winifred Eboh

Senior Lecturer, School of Health and Social Care

Work stream lead: Institutional and local context.

Tackling Racism

The University recognises the importance of adopting a holistic, institutional approach to tackling racismtackling racismtackling racism to ensure sustainable and systemic change. We are aligning our Anti-Racism Action plan with the Race Equality Charter and the Universities UK recommendations to ensure that we take a cohesive approach to tackling racial harassment and addressing institutional racism. 

Arrow symbol
Contact us
REC Co-Chairs Dr Hannah Gibson
Kai Yin Low
Get in touch
Inclusion team