Senate is the supreme academic authority of the University and is accountable to Council.

The role of Senate is to promote the academic work of the University both in teaching and research and regulate and supervise education and student discipline. It has 57 members, including Deans, heads of department and student representatives, and is chaired by the Vice-Chancellor.

The membership, functions and operations of the Senate are governed by Ordinances 13 - 19 (.pdf), which came into effect on 1 August 2007.

Meetings of Senate 2022-2023

  • Wednesday 2 November 2022
  • Wednesday 25 January 2023
  • Wednesday 26 April 2023
  • Wednesday 28 June 2023

Joint meeting of Senate and Council

  • Thursday 13 July 2023

Meeting minutes

Election to Senate 2023-24 to 2026-27

Nominations are sought for five members of permanent academic staff to stand for Senate.

Eleven of the current elected members of Senate will remain in office in 2023-24; eight in non-professorial posts, three in a Professorship.

Electors must, at the date of the election, be permanent members of the academic staff. Should a ballot be necessary, ballot information will be sent by email on Thursday 25 May 2023 to all those who are eligible to vote.

The vacancies

The vacancies arise following the completion of term of Professor Rossella Argenziano, Professor Katharine Cockin, Professor Edward Codling, Professor Theodore Konstadinides and Dr Stevphen Shukaitis.


Nomination forms must be signed by the nominee and by two electors, one of whom must be from a department/school different from that of the nominee. Nominees are requested to give a brief biography and statement in support of their nomination, in not more than 350 words, on the pro forma on the second page of the nomination form. Nominees for election to the Senate must be full or part-time members of the permanent academic staff.


The closing date for nominations is Wednesday 24 May 2023. Nominations must reach by 5pm on that date.

Date of election

Should a ballot be necessary, ballot information will be sent by email on Thursday 25 May 2023 to those who are eligible to vote.

The date of election shall be Thursday 8 June 2023.


Senate elected members

Current elected members of the Senate


  • Professor Rossella Argenziano - Economics
  • Professor Katharine Cockin - Literature, Film, and Theatre Studies
  • Professor Edward Codling - Mathematical Sciences
  • Fiona Elsted - Essex Pathways (1)
  • Professor Theodore Konstadinides - Essex Law School
  • Dr Clotilde Pegorier - Essex Law School (4)
  • Dr Steven Shukaitis - Essex Business School


  • Marcin Rudy – East 15


  • Professor Thankom Arun - Essex Business School
  • Dr Winifred Eboh - School of Health and Social Care
  • Dr Emily Jones - Essex Law School (2)
  • Dr Rick O’Gorman - Department of Psychology
  • Dr Róisín Ryan-Flood - Department of Sociology


  • Dr Hannah Gibson - Department of Language and Linguistics
  • Dr Raynee Gutting - Essex Pathways
  • Dr Laurie James-Hawkins - Department of Sociology
  • Dr Ruth Lowry - School of Sport, Rehabilitation and Exercise Sciences


  • Dr Georgi Grahovski - Department of Mathematical Sciences (3)
  • Dr Brandon Reeder - School of Life Sciences (5)

(1) Appointed to Head of Department from August 2022

(2) Until 31 December 2022

(3)  From 1 January 2023

(4) Until 31 March 2023

(5) From 1 April 2023



Get in touch
Emma Hardy  Deputy Academic Registrar
University of Essex, Wivenhoe Park, Colchester, Essex, CO4 3SQ
Telephone: 01206 872989